Assuming it isn't a bug for you, here are some screenies:
You should have a little 'x' in the corner of each selected wolf or companion.
When you click that, it removes them from the party and you can add another one. The area will be pink.
When you click "Save Party", it will save the new part for you and the new party members will be on a 15 minute cooldown before you can change them again.